Kaby Lake (7th gen) microarchitecture

Kaby Lake is the seventh generation Core processor microarchitecture, and was launched in October 2016 (mobile chips) and January 2017 (desktop chips). With the latest generation of microarchitecture, Intel decided to produce Kaby Lake processors without using their “tick tock” manufacturing and design model. Similar to Skylake, Kaby Lake processors are produced using a 14 nanometer manufacturing process technology.

Built on an improved 14 nm process (14FF+), Kaby Lake features faster CPU clock speeds, clock speed changes, and higher Turbo frequencies. Beyond these process and clock speed changes, little of the CPU architecture has changed from Skylake, resulting in identical IPC

Kaby Lake features a new graphics architecture to improve performance in 3D graphics and 4K video playback. It will add native HDCP 2.2 support, along with fixed function decode of H.264, HEVC Main and Main10/10-bit, and VP9 10-bit and 8-bit video. Hardware encode is supported for H.264, HEVC Main10/10-bit, and VP9 8-bit video. VP9 10-bit encode is not supported in hardware. OpenCL 2.1 is now supported

Kaby Lake is the first Core architecture to support hyper-threading for the Pentium-branded desktop CPU SKU. Kaby Lake also features the first overclocking-enabled i3-branded CPU.

List of Kaby Lake processors
Features common to desktop Kaby Lake CPUs:

LGA 1151 socket
DMI 3.0 and PCIe 3.0 interfaces
Dual channel memory support in the following configurations: DDR3L-1600 1.35 V (32 GiB maximum) or DDR4-2400 1.2 V (64 GiB maximum)
A total of 16 PCIe lanes
The Core-branded processors support the AVX2 instruction set. The Celeron and Pentium-branded ones support only SSE4.1/4.2
350 MHz base graphics clock rate
No L4 cache (eDRAM).
A release date of January 3, 2017